top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJody-Ann Stone

My Daughter's Birth Story/ Mother's Day!

Got up the morning of May 8, was feeling cramps so I went to the hospital and send me back home saying it not time yet so I went home and was in pain all day. Unlit it was about 9-9:30 I decided to go back because the pain was getting worst, so they check and I was 3cm dilated. So they booked me in and I called my family and told them, my day and my family friend Nadia came, my dad had work so he could stay and my sister had her family so she couldn't either and thankfully Nadia was there and could stay the night. They had induced me, and waiting unlit I was dilated all the way to start pushing, plus they had to wait for the doctor to come before anything could happen. The pain was so much I asked for the epidural it only helps a little bit, so I still there in pain for about 10 hours become I started pushing.



After about 4 hours of pushing they had realize that I was having difficulty having the baby naturally. At this point they asked me if I wanted to continue pushing or have a C-section, I decided to go with the C-section because I didn't wanted to continue pushing an end up hurting my baby. We all decided on the C-section and Nadia called my family an informed them about was going on, my sister came down to the sister so that she could go into the delivery room with me and Nadia went home to sleep and since she spent the whole up comforting me and getting my hand sneezed. Went into the delivery room they told me to count to 10 backward and then I remember waking up to the voice of my baby crying (May 9 approximately 10:30). They then moved me to the recovery room which I was in for a bout a day and then they moved me in the maternity ward. At this point everyone started to come visit and saying congrats!


Fast forward to two days later, early that morning they brought me my baby and we are there bonding. Next thing a know she started shaking so I called the nurse and they took her to the doctor, and am there waiting to hear back about what is going on and why she was shaking and nothing. After about an hour I called to asked the nurse, which is when she told me that she having seizure and am like what's that? what does that mean? what cause it? and she wasn't able to answer my question she I went over to the NICU to go see my baby and that wen the doctor came and started to explain what it mean, and said that she will be admitted because they need to keep her under observation. I asked for how long? She didn't know because they had to run some test, do CT-scan, and x-ray to try to understand what cause it.


The days follow they started putting her on dips, drawing blood after blood and that's when it all started. I ended up getting discharged on my fourth day there and they offered me a room to stay or go home and I decided to stay so I could be closer to my baby to see everything that goes on and since I as breastfeeding it would be easier. And the days follow I have never were mostly crying and praying for everything to be okay, and we could go home soon. my sister, my dad, my brother, my friend and my step-mom was all there washing, cooking and supporting me. And the family in Jamaica (my mom, my husband, my sister, my sister-in-law etc.). All were praying and calling and encouraging me to be strong, but all I could do was just cry because when I look at my baby girl all I could see was lubes in my her body, it went as bad as I couldn't even touch her at one point. Which of course only makes me cry even more, but as they days goes time they finally figures out that it was due to the pushing my that he brain got sneezed.


And then I started to think what I if I had continue to push I could have hurt my baby even more or maybe even worst kill her. But thankfully the pain was so hot that I decided to go for the C-section so that the pain would stop, even though that's a scar that I will forever have on my body I do not regret doing what did. Ove time her brain started to heal and some of the dips got removed and everything since to going in the right direction, thou they still continue to run the test but I got strong enough and went with her to the testing room and was with her all throughout. Which is what helps to me stop the crying and started to look on the bright side.


Then fast forward about a week and a half later we are still there, but all her dips got remover and they were only doing blood test. I can finally hold her whenever I want and kiss up on her, this is when they assign me to a social worker and she talked with me through what I am feelin and provide me with support to help me with my baby after I leave the hospital. We were about at the two week mark when the doctor came and talk with me about us getting to go home but I had to continue watching for sign and if any I would have to come back, she gave us some prescriptions and we fill them and had everything ready so as soon as we got the word we were out.

I started packing up everything, went to the store and got her some new clothes because all the clothes an diapers that I brought for her was too big. And the day following we got confirmation that we leave the next day. Now the day is finally here, I got up shower and packed my bags, my dad came an picked up some the bags to take home and come back for us. But we have to wait for the doctor to come @12pm to talk with me and that was longest wait in my life because I couldn't wait to just leave and finally sleep in my own bed in my baby.


She finally made it, and we talked then we were on our way home. Got home and I was happy, I set alarm to make sure I never missed giving her all her medication. We went in for all of our appointment the weeks and months following and all was going great, she was healing very fast and she was a happy and chatty baby. Fast forward to about 7 months later and she all healed. and we never had to go back to the hospital again, but we did have to continue visiting her doctor which didn't last for long because there wasn't really to check on.


Fast forward to three years later we just celebrated her 3rd birthday, and I couldn't prouder of what she have accomplished so far, she's brilliant, smart, beautiful, chatty as ever, and thinks she is a tom boy. Love to climb everything and running around.







Happy Mother's Day to all the mother today, I know COVID-19 doesn't allow us to celebrate the way that we would normally. But just because we can't go out doesn't make the day any less special and you shouldn't be treated as much. I hope that your significant other or your child(ren) make the day special for you, even if its just waking up early and making you breakfast.


All of our single hardworking mother, parent who plays both we salute you for all the extra work you have to be doing! Each and everyone f us are special!


I spend my first mother's day in a hospital, so now that we are home and its mother's day we are celebration inside or outside. Nothing is stopping us!



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page